The 2014 Schedule Has Been Posted. - Racing will Start at 6:30 PM in 2014!!!

Eriez Speedway remembers Dick Litz this Sunday, June 1.

Hammett, PA May 28, 2014: Dick Litz, the 1983 Eriez Speedway Late Model Champion, was one of the fan favorites at Eriez Speedway from the time the track opened in 1961. Dick competed in the very first event ever held at the track and raced until into his sixties. Dick holds the distinction of being the oldest man to ever win a Late Model feature at Eriez, in his 60s. Each year the speedway remembers the fan favorite with a 29 lap even paying $2900 to win. Dick’s number was 29 through most of his career. This week Eriez Speedway salutes the life and legacy of one of the finest drivers to ever strap on a race car.

Mike Knight is the defending winner of the event and is expected to be in contention this year to repeat. Knight has one win thus for in 2014 and is always among the favorites to win. Of course defending track champion Rob Blair will be among the threats to take home the $2900 first place purse as well as Max Blair, competing full time in Jay’s Auto Wrecking Super Late Models this season. Points leader Darrel Bossard hasn’t won a feature yet this season but is racing at the front of the pack every week. Former champions Dave. Hess and Chris Hackett are currently second and third in the current year’ standings and are a threat to win as well. Rob Blair, the 2013 champion, is sixth, 160 markers out of the lead.

Bossard holds the distinction of being perhaps the first driver since Ron Blackmer in the 1970’s to lead the standings in two separate divisions as he also leads the Bonnell Collision Center FASTRAK Late Models title chase after three races. Winless so far in his first year of FASTRAK competition, Bossard has been at the front of the pack consistently and it is only a matter of time before he breaks into the Winner’s Circle. Matt Latta won the feature last week and currently holds second in the standings over Bobby Rohrer, who has been near the front every time he drives onto the track. Defending champion Chad Wright is currently seventh, 208 points from the lead.

Former Plyler Overhead Door E-Mods champion Joel Watson has won two of the three features run this season and enjoys a big 41-point edge in the point’s race. Former champion Dave Hess is second with Gary Eicher third. Defending champion Rich Michael is all the way back in eleventh position in the early points race.

The Conway & O’Malley Limited Late Models are being led by Dan Maxim, who has yet to score a feature win. Nate Short was victorious in both the second and third features of the year and trails Maxim by thirty points. Opening night winner Kelly Frederes currently sits third in the standings.

Brandon Groters, winner of the last two features in the Waterford Hotel Street Stocks division enjoys a slim seven-point advantage over opening night feature winner and former champion Chris Withers. Jeremy Williams is currently third 53-point in arrears of Withers. Defending champion John Phelps has not had a top finish yet this season and is mired in tenth at the current time.

The winner of the Dan McGarvie Memorial two weeks ago was Stephen Enlow and he leads the Kandy’s Gentleman’s Club Challengers points chase. Jason Brightman and Justin Boardman trail, neither yet having a feature win this season. Other winner this season have been Joe Beach and Matt Marcy.

Eriez Speedway is located on Sampson Road, just off Lake Pleasant Road in the town of Hammett, PA, 3 miles south of Interstate 90. Take Route 8 South from Interstate 90 Exit 29 and follow the signs. Racing begins promptly at 6:30 PM. Admission for this special event is $13.00 for Adults, $11 for seniors, children 6 – 15 $6, under 6 free. Special events are more.